Imperial Treasure Bakery @ 100AM

Oldie but goodie.

 

Imperial Treasure’s egg tart had a lovely wobbly custard. It was less sweet than Tai Cheong’s custard- probably to cater to our local tastebuds. The shortcrust was buttery, soft and light. I still prefer Tai Cheong’s for its richer flavours but this will suit the palette of people who like their desserts less sweet. I highly recommend going during lunch hour because egg tarts taste best FRESHLY BAKED~

And because I had a bird’s eye view of the counter from my seat, I spied a tray of char siew sous being pulled out from the kitchen. The auntie laughed at me when I asked for one- because like the egg tarts, people were buying them in boxes and here I was stalking the counters with the intention of buying one. 

Anyway, this is also worth getting. I love sinking my teeth into a good char siew sou. Flakey and buttery crust, chunks of char siew caramelised in a thick, gooey honey sauce, and the crusty, buttery  layer at the bottom where the puff pastry meets the pan. Royal China is the gold standard for me and this was only just slightly off.

The Imperial Treasure Bakery at 100AM has a nice seating area for people to enjoy their super affordable pastries, and not so cheap drinks. It’s a great place to ‘hang-out’ and a much better alternative to some cafes that serve  food that you can assemble at home. In fact, I saw an old couple savouring their plates of pastries (two plates with the exact same stuff: old school jam cake, egg tart, and char siew sou.). Old people know best 😉

*Caveat: I had all my stuff HOT. I’m not sure how they fare as takeaways.

2 thoughts on “Imperial Treasure Bakery @ 100AM

Leave a Reply

