Thoughts & recent bakes

I’ve been doing a fair bit of thinking recently. It happens as you grow older I think haha.

Sometimes I wonder if my interest in baking and food will develop into more than an interest. I look at cafes or restaurants and think ‘wow, maybe I can do this too’. Afterall, the lawyer-turns-entrepreneur story isn’t uncommon anymore. Some might even consider it a cliché.

But working in a cafe changed my perspective in some ways. While opening a cafe with a cool concept might seem fine and dandy, it’s not so easy to run a cafe well, let alone maintain a successful business. I most certainly don’t have any business acumen, nor do I have the skills to create really good food that I think a price can be attached to in the first place. More importantly, it’s not easy to make the process commercially viable. I most certainly do not want to start a cafe that outsources everything and banks the business on people who just want to be there and be seen.

So for now this is definitely just an interest for me. And I like it that way. Being able to freely criticize and rave about food. Studying and experimenting with recipes. Reading extensively on food not because I have an obligation to but because I want to. Not monetizing any of my interests. Keeping a strict separation between hobby and work.

On a side note, these are some of my recent bakes :D:

Granola

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chip cookies

Earl Grey Pound Cake with Earl Grey Cream and Dreyer’s Vanilla Ice Cream

Orange Cookies dipped in Cinnamon Sugar

Super-Healthy Muffins with no butter or sugar (Honey and olive oil were used as replacements)

Earl Grey Cupcakes that were made with my friends. First time experimenting with rose piping.

 

7 thoughts on “Thoughts & recent bakes

  1. I once briefly considered the same as you, then I realised that life in the F&B is not as glamorous as it sounds, even if you run your own eatery/cafe. I’d rather much enjoy experimenting and having inside my own kitchen haha!

Leave a Reply

