Recipes: Matcha Brioche, Earl Grey Pound Cake

The hols have been very unproductive so far… but then again I guess it doesn’t have to be haha. I’ve been saying for the longest time (since the JC days) that I can’t wait to get out of school to work but the reality is looming closer and now this is my last “summer” holiday!

Keeping the traveling plans to a minimum because I want to catch up with all my hobbies. Everyone talks about how exciting traveling is and how much they grow as a person- all true. But there’s a time for everything and sometimes it’s pretty awesome to laze around in bed, do the things that you like and feel time slip through your fingers without having to worry  one bit 😉

Make sure you chill the green tea bit long enough till it becomes stiff. Ours was a little runny haha, hence the slightly messy swirls. For a prettier representation, look at Vintage Trinket’s! 

Yesterday the friends and I baked again. My favourite recipe was the Matcha Brioche from Vintage Trinkets adapted from Foodbeam (now Like a Strawberry Milk refer to my Links). Chelle did an awesome job at styling- I’ll never have the patience to do these things because all I want to do is EAT when my stuff gets out of the oven. Break bread, give thanks and munch it. See the steam rise as you tear apart the brioche, taste the crustiness and soft, airy insides, bite into the grassy green matcha swirls, pair with a mild tea like chamomile. There, I’ve provided you with a standard operating procedure already.

Check out that beautiful crumb (:

Another very successful recipe was the Earl Grey Loaf also from Vintage Trinkets adapted from Piggy’s Cooking Journal. Honestly I think it would have been better if I steeped the Earl Grey in milk (it didn’t make sense to steep two tablespoons of milk though haha) and used better leaves but I had to work with what I had 😉

And I do agree that following the original recipe yields a loaf that is a little dry. It was perfect- moist, soft with a fine crumb- when we first took it out of the oven and immediately ate it, but the remaining… 2 slices haha.. dried out a little after a few hours. A solution would be to clingwrap it straight after it cools so that the moisture doesn’t get lost or you can do what chelle says, and increase the milk to 3 tablespoons and tell me how it goes heh. The awesome thing about baking pound cakes at home is you can use really good quality butter (it’s a worthwhile investment trust me). So far all the pound cakes I attempted at home have yielded a very fine and soft crumb. Such a far cry from store bought pound cakes. The only issue I usually have is keeping the cake moist and I guess that boils down to the proportion of liquid in the batter recipe and the amount of time I keep it in the oven. Time carefully, watch for the split of the loaf cake and u should be fine 😉

We also attempted a pumpkin pudding but that didn’t turn out so well because the caramel was way too overcooked (my fault), the pudding slightly underbaked, and I think we agreed that the texture was too one-dimensional. Though I must add that I actually like the texture, and flavour of the pudding alone. I think this pudding would work well with a cheesecake base. Technically it’s actually not very different from how we bake a cheesecake anyway so I don’t see why I can’t adapt this into a cheesecake recipe.

Anyway, lots of plans for the coming days. I’m in the midst of finishing my research project (I must finish this by tomorrow), working part-time at the cafe too (I’m happy to report that I can now handle cashiering haha. No more panic attacks), and I’m flying off to Switzerland next week. A little tired thinking about the flight but looking forward to meeting the friends and traveling to Dijon with my parents (: It won’t be a long trip but it might be pretty tiring since we are doing a fair bit of hiking. I’ll be lugging my DSLR this time to capture the beauty of the Swiss Alps. Wish me luck!

 

