Nonya Delicatessen @ Bukit Timah Plaza

Recently Gavin from Lek Lim Nonya Cake Confectionery treated the friend and I to some delicious kueh- but that will be for another post. He mentioned that he hardly saw any posts about kueh on my blog, which is true.

Actually kueh is one of my favourite kinds of desserts because I have this obsession with coconut milk for its nuanced sweetness and coconutty fragrance. It’s just that I can’t be blogging about every single meal in my life right? Haha. But thanks for pointing it out Gavin 😉

My favourite kuehs are kueh tutu and steamed tapioca kueh (I believe it’s kueh ubi kayu in Malay, please correct me if I’m wrong). The former I get from a stall in Beo Crescent Hawker Centre which is just opposite a fruit stall we patronize weekly, and the latter from Nonya Delicatessen in Bukit Timah Plaza. I blogged about them before, but that was quite awhile back so I guess it would be timely for another post.

The tantalizing counter of sugar-laden foods, all nicely packaged for take-away. 

Prices here are on the high-side for what they offer so do check out the prices first before buying. The owner is one of the best salespersons I know. He’ll convince you to buy everything!!

Of all their goodies, I highly recommend their kueh ubi kayu (steamed tapioca kueh, the yellow ones), kueh bengka ubi (baked tapioca cake, bottom right) and kueh salat (kaya kueh). The latter two are not the best of the best but I would reckon,  one of the best in their respective categories. But their kueh ubi kayu (I emphasize, the yellow ones, not the brown or green ones) are the best in my books.

Thick slabs of soft, fall-apart-tender kueh with the natural sweetness of tapioca and coconut milk, coated with fresh dessicated coconut. Amazing stuff. If you are not convinced, ask the owner what it is and look a little hesitant after you hear the description. He’ll most probably pass you a sample.

I was stupid enough to mix that day. No. Just buy the yellow ones. The pandan version is good, but the au natural version is GREAT.

Our loot for the day!

Desserts are all lovingly homemade (by the lady boss I believe?). Many a time I was turned away without any kueh ubi kayu because everything was sold out. Don’t go away disappointed, come early!

4 thoughts on “Nonya Delicatessen @ Bukit Timah Plaza

  1. It used to be a good restaurant, that I have been eating there for the last 6 years. Lately, while the food maintain the standard, the service is significantly going downward. I went there this Wednesday. The shop stated open at 11:00am, I was there 11:45am, there was a queue waiting already, not for the service, but for the shop to open. The owner(s) were busy preparing all the pre-set bowls inside the shop, ignoring people is puzzled on what is happening. It was not until after 12:15pm that it started to serve the lady in the front. Later, she told me she was there before 11:45am. While people are willing to queue and wait, but there was no information nor notice that when will the shop be officially open. Not a sign of apology whatsoever. I saw food were serve to others who already sit down waiting, maybe they come even earlier, and is allowed to sit first. The man assisting with assigning and cleaning the table is also not one of the friendless person. I see a lot of repeat customers, and is happy to see the connection and privilege given to them, but for those who are not regular, this is not a very good view. I eat at this place even before the renovation done a few years ago, from a few folding tables to now a proper store with fixed chairs and table. It is good to see that business is good, and customers are willing to queue for longer time (usually 25-30 mins during lunch time), but such attitude and service is not welcome.

    • the sign said 11am opening time? I always thought it was later than that! So I’m usually one of those in the queue waiting for it to open. But yes, I can imagine the confusion it must have caused.

      Ah, the reno was a long long time ago, brings back fond memories (: used to da bao back when I was very young cuz there were always not enough seats.

  2. Pingback: Hungry for KUEH #1: Ah Meng @ Hong Lim FC; Xing Xing Tapioca Kueh, Ondeh Ondeh @ Maxwell FC | Oyster Diaries

  3. Food is good but i really hate their service and the pushy sales. Especially this short and stout guy who forever thinks he’s very witty and know-it-all. He asked for tips shamelessly (or maybe he was trying to crack a joke which was NOT FUNNY). when u dint give exact and he ends up giving u 5 cents coins change when ure not tipping. Seriously, what’s wrong with the staff there. NEVER going to patronise again. So much more good food out there.

Leave a Reply

