Orchard Road- The Elephant Parade

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also He has put eternity in their hearts, except that no one can find out the work that God does from beginning to end.”

With Christmas round the corner, Orchard Road is decked with Hitachi’s blue-themed christmas lights, and every major shopping centre has their own set of decorations to stir up the festive spirit.

I decided to take a walk along Orchard Road with my camera, and boy am I glad I did. I’ve been living in my clam for the past few weeks so I was pleasantly surprised by the hand-painted elephant sculptures littered all around our shopping district. They are particularly concentrated outside Tangs near the make-shift giftstore that sells elephant merchandise.

The first to greet me after I got off the bus!

These cute things are hand-painted by local and non-local artists, celebrities etc. Each are very unique and interesting in their own way. I didn’t linger on to read the descriptions today, but I’ll definitely be making another trip down because I just found out that Tangs has a “paint your elephant” workshop which costs $45 per pax.

Almost bought this tote bag, until I found out it’s almost $50. But you know what, I might just buy it next round. I’m a sucker for colorful, cute things. 

All proceeds from the sales go to the Asian Elephant Foundation. The parade has been through several parts of Europe. Now there are 162 elephants dotted all over our island. (click here for the map).

Miniatures for sale

Love the porcelain blue prints!

This guy’s outside somerset313

Please wear proper footwear though because it rains almost every other day. I made the mistake of wearing worn-out slippers.  Slipped and embarrassed myself in front of some foreigners who were having lunch. I think they were quite amused that I was fussing about my camera rather than myself, haha.

Popped by Scotts Square to see if Maison Kayser was open but NOPE, tough luck. It looks like its opening soon though, the infrastructure is mostly up.

I can’t even remember this brand but the flower theme is really beautiful. I like the rough material used, and the understated color and design. I’m not much of a shopper, but I do like pretty things!

Right outside Scotts Square

Obviously this queer looking bunch of glass tentacles serves no practical purpose, and technically unless you look up you might not even notice it. Felt that it was a little out of place in Scotts Square, but still interesting I guess.

Credits for most of the info I have here go to Artitute. Do visit their website for more details, and the history about the elephant parade!

2 thoughts on “Orchard Road- The Elephant Parade

  1. hi there, was just searching for a picture related to Eccl 3:11 and your picture of tangs’ christmas deco came up. nicely taken, it’s even lovelier at night.

Leave a Reply

