K ki

It’s great that the owners of k ki do not rest on their laurels but instead constantly strive to produce new cakes for their customers. The two newbies recently released are F.M, short for Fromage Melon, and Noisette.

C and I arrived minutes before they opened.  

Boy was I glad to be early. For once, I saw the counter crowded with dainty little cakes. Even the elusive mont blanc made its appearance.

But I wanted to introduce C my favourite k ki creation, the Kinabaru. The soft, silky coconut mousse with that tangy passionfruit layer is to-die-for. Don’t belittle the simplicity of the combination, if there’s any cake you should try in k ki, it has to be (without the slightest doubt) Kinabaru.

This is one of their newest creations, the Noisette. It looks really elegant with that hazelnut perched on top doesn’t it? The sponge is unfortunately a little dry (same for kinabaru’s chocolate sponge actually) and it is quite apparent because there are three hazelnut cake layers to the ensemble. That said, the hazelnut mousse layer is so delicious. I like how the nuttiness is not overpowered by the bitter chocolate ganache. Best of all, it doesn’t make me think of fererro rocher (as much as I love that chocolate).

The Litte Red Riding Hood (LRRH) is quite heavy, so don’t say I didn’t warn you. The pretty dark chocolate mirror glaze enrobes smooth milk chocolate mousse, a thin layer of raspberry preserve and a thin layer of sponge. It’s not something I would typically order- too rich for my liking. I suggest sharing this with someone alongside a lighter creation for contrast, like how we did.

Though cakes here might be pricey for their petit portions (7-9 bucks thereabouts), it’s worth every cent because each creation is painstakingly made right down to the very last detail. I think kki’s strength is their mousse. So often we find mousse over-laden with gelatin. Kki differs from this norm, so make sure you try those creations which primarily consist of mousse (kinabaru!).

Click to see my reviews of their strawberry tart, Antoinette, Emily and their sables.

4 thoughts on “K ki

  1. Those are hazelnut dacquoise layers in Noisette. Same for Kinabaru, that’s a chocolate dacquoise layer. Dacquoise is a nut layer (in this case made with almond flour) made without flour so it tends to be dryer than normal cake sponge. Kki uses dacquoise layers for their cake bases, rather than normal sponge, to better hold the soft mousses on top.

    • Genoise or dacquoise? I thought dacquoise is some sort of meringue but I’m not sure. At least that’s what I saw in recipe books. Usually I soak my cake layers with syrup for mousse cakes to keep it moist but i guess kki does it differently. kinabaru’s fine but noisette came across a little dry because there were three layers. Anyhow, I liked noisette a lot. the flavours really came through (:

  2. Like most French entremets & pastries, K ki uses dacquoise layers as cake bases for their mousse cakes. Noisette as described: Hazelnut Dacquoise layers with Chocolate & Praline Cream. Kinabaru: Coconut Mousse, Passionfruit Crème, Chocolate Dacquoise.

    (Genoise is another type of sponge cake more coarse & drier than regular sponges. Kki’s & Canele’s strawberry shortcakes use genoise sponges. Compare these to regular sponges used by patisseries like Flor & Glace which use light Japanese sponges for their shortcakes. The former is noticeably drier.)

Leave a Reply

