Tung Lok Classics @ Orchard Parade Hotel

It’s been a year full of ups and downs as usual, but I’m glad that I’ve finally made a choice about what I want to do when I grow up and I’m working towards that goal! It’s always been merely a paper chase but now, there is finally true motivation behind all my studies (: Looking back- the nerve wrecking interviews, receiving my A level results, the apprehensiveness during my first day in law school- I think I have grown, a lot. But the best bit about this year is meeting new friends and bonding with friends that I always knew but never really talked to. For that, I am truly thankful.

The holidays have never tasted so sweet seriously after all the hectic memorising and writing. Traveling to two more places before the year ends ( that totals to 9 places since last november thanks to the long break!). Next week will be my first ever church mission trip to India (Hyderabad) and I’m pretty excited about it. I’m not taking any jabs so hopefully I come back fine 0.0

Anyway, back to food. Been eating a lot of chinese cuisine lately because it’s relatively more wallet-friendly and value for money. You need great company of course when eating chinese food because everything is meant to be shared! That I think is the cornerstone of this cuisine.

This is a personal favourite. Silky smooth tofu within with a crusty exterior flavoured with premium oyster sauce. The oyster sauce caught all of our attention- it’s really tasty! Below rests lots of kai lan soaked up with the goodness of oyster sauce, yum.

I think this was beef shank, not too sure about this though. The meat was firm and it took some effort to chew but I enjoyed the natural sweetness from the meat.

Okay, the pork belly was really fatty. You can literally see the stratas of fats and meat. I shan’t lie, I removed the top layer of fats but it got such a chore that I ate the middle layer of fats anyway. Yes, there is a middle layer of fats, it’s like double chocolate layered cake hahaha. That’s said, the fatty layer that I ate was really melt-in-the-mouth giving the tender and tasty layer of meat an oily finish. Grandma would have chided me for wasting the top layer of fats because hokkiens really treasure the collagen rich top layer in kong ba bao!

The roast duck was carved and its skin carefully wrapped in egg crepes. The egg crepe was pretty well done. It didn’t get soggy even after a long while like what I had in london. The duck skin on the other hand, is nothing to shout about. I loved the leeks and sauce that came with it though, very moreish.

Stir-fried greens that I wasn’t quite attracted to.

This I like. Oily cod fish with a salted egg crust. The plain tasting cod was bumped up in terms of flavour because of the slight saltiness and rich eggy taste of the salted yolk that went into the deep fried crust. There was also a myraid of textures worked into the dish – a slight graininess from the salted yolk, tender melt-in-the-mouth cod. In this case less is more, don’t go stuffing yourself with it because you will just feel ill afterwards.

This was my virgin experience eating frog legs. It feels more tender than chicken though the meat tastes more like chicken. That said, it was served deep-fried so the taste was a little lost to me. Not really a fan but there were mixed reactions around the table. Everyone seemed to have their own expectations of what good frog should taste like, lol.

The stone bowl fried rice was good. Al dente grains of rice evenly coated with just the right amount of sauce mixed with cubes of yam, chinese sausage and luncheon meat. The cubes of yam especially really uplifted the flavour of the dish.

Our duck meat was stir fried with eefu noodles. Not bad, but for once I actually prefer rice to noodles.

To round it all up, we ordered a trio of desserts. Table favourites included this baby coconut with ice cream inside. Can’t remember what was the other ingredient.

The friend and I hogged this instead. We loved the al dente grains of pulot hitam (the rest preferred it to be softer) and the nuanced fragrance of coconut from the cold coconut ice cream.

The mango cream was not served chilled much to our disappointment. Neither refreshing nor satisfying.

Food here is good though desserts are not their forte (it usually isn’t in chinese restaurants I guess!). But we did have a proper dessert fix after that at daily scoop when we went to get our baking ingredients for the next day. Baking turned out to be a success by the way, can’t wait to share the recipe for Laurent Bernard’s chocolate souffle and Evan’s Kitchen Rambling’s tarte aux fruits rouges which features a Pierre Herme tart crust and a creme d’amandes filling from tartelette.

Happy Holidays everyone!

Leave a Reply

