Hong Kong: my favourite photos

One of my favourite places in Hong Kong for photography was the street selling dried food. The street reeked of what they were selling making it an ultra sensory experience for me!

I enjoy taking photos of people but I rarely do so in Singapore ( unless I’m covering an event) because I often get nasty glances from people after that who probably think that I am stalking them 0.0 But being a tourist gives me an excuse to snap as many photos as I want ( or at least I feel justified in taking photos of people :p).

This old uncle was listing down carefully all the things that we bought together with the prices. His wizened face spoke volumes about the amount of hard work and devotion he put into his dried foods business.

Dried foods are packed with flavour, perfect for boiling soups! The variety found in Hong Kong is pretty crazy, so do make time to go down to buy some.

Along the streets, I also caught sight of many people selling cuts of dried pork (?). It looked really interesting and mum wanted to buy some home to use for soup but dad of course protested against it.

Want some muscles? There’s no need for gym. Just keep lifting these sacks!

Next post: an authentic breakfast in Hong Kong 😀

6 thoughts on “Hong Kong: my favourite photos

  1. Haha, those dried ham are 金华火腿, fantastic for soup-making but quality in HK tends to be inferior unless you know the store well.

    Nice shots of people! =)

      • Haha well.. traditionally the dried ham is really a specialty of the Shanghainese, aiding them to brew rich, flavourful broth, while Cantonese in general prefer soup to be of the clear, light type. So it was only in recent years that Hong Kongers got exposed more to Shanghainese cuisine and adapt using the ham in their soups.

        In Hong Kong, it will be safer to buy the ham from old-fashioned Shanghainese dried goods store instead of the cantonese type you visited. A rather safe shop name to recommend is 老三阳, conveniently located at the short strip of shops in between Times Square and Jardeen Place in Causeway Bay. Do let me know if your mom intends to get it when she visits, i help you sought out the exact address. =)

        Oh forgot to say, I hope the kitty didnt scratch your lens. haha. I got one hissing at me when my SLR beamed the pre-shot light at it. lolx

      • oooh, that’s interesting 😀 Yups, shall ask you for the address when we go hong kong again.

        Nopes, the cat didnt scratch my lens but it scared me a little. She was sitting down at first but suddenly got up when I pointed my lens at her!

Leave a Reply

