Bad pancakes :( – Hatched

Hatched Pancake party (3 for $10, 2 for $8)

Despite rave reviews, I was really disappointed with what I got.

Thick and fluffy pancakes came after a long wait. I was starving, all ready to dig into the massive stack of pancakes in front of me.

Unfortunately it was too starchy and very heavy, leaving me tired of the taste after a few bites. It would have been an impossible task to finish even 1 if not for the shot of maple syrup and sabayon cream, the saving graces that allowed me to conquer 2. Thank goodness for the friend who took 1 away from me.

Lest you think it was purely my subjective opinion, 11 people agreed with me(I know it is still a small sample size risky of hasty generalisation but this makes the argument slightly more convincing no? haha). I reckon it would have been better if the pancakes were half their thickness ( the friend unmercifully called it a sponge), and more sabayon cream was given. The sabayon cream tasted like warm frothy melted ice cream, a much better alternative to maple syrup because it doesn’t leave you sick in the tummy.

Price was good of course, $9 ( with NUS discount) for 3? that’s a steal! But maybe if it were thinner and more generous on the sabayon cream, I would have enjoyed my experience 10 times more.

12 thoughts on “Bad pancakes :( – Hatched

  1. thanks for the review! Was tempted to return after my pretty acky experience with the eggs and all the raving ones abt the pancakes. Boy, aren’t the pancakes a tad too thick? Looks like minjiangkueh kinda thick without filling.

  2. Yea they were x.x Just had them a few hours ago so the memories are fresh in my head. haha.

    They were fluffy no doubt but it is kind of impossible to achieve non-starchy pancakes when it is that thick. As paradoxical as it may sound, less is more!

    • it was as thick as my finger :O a lot of stuff, haha.

      The one with scrambled eggs wrapped with salmon on top of toast looked srummy. Cowboy looked really good too, the steak was done medium rare, pink on the inside and charred on the outsides. Didn’t try any of them tho, so not in a position to comment on the taste

    • Hmm… That’s contentious as well. The last time we had hotcakes for sleepover they were terrible partly because it came cold from mcdelivery. The friends were scarred and never wanted to eat hotcakes ever again xD

    • Nopes. I heard mixed reviews about them, some good some bad.

      I don’t think I want to have another pancake for a loong time, the thought of more maple syrup just makes me feel ill x.x

Leave a Reply

